LibGuides: Politics: Political Resources

Search for Books & E-Books

Gold Card Holders - Request Books for Curbside Pickup Here!

Print Books in the Library

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers more than one million high-quality e-book titles and 100,000 audiobooks from more than 1,500 major academic publishers and University Presses from around the world.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers,
Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities Ebooks is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year

Books to Request from other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search book collections from around the world. You can also use this tool to request books not found at Juniata.

Get Books

LOOK in the J's

Second floor (top)

Of Library!

Research Tools

Top 5 Research Databases

JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni - Political Science This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni Political Science allows finding and tracking state and federal legislation, political news, and featured political publications.
Project Muse - Social Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals in the social sciences including cultural studies, economics, anthropology, politics, and much more.
Academic Search COMPLETE This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search Wiley published journals and books in nearly every subject.

More Research Tools

Google Scholar
**Add Beeghly Library to the Google Scholar settings to instantly see if we provide full text to articles. Go to Settings > Library Links > type in Beeghly or Juniata College. Turn on cookies and Save.

Nexis Uni - Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni Criminal Justice provides access to state and federal statutes, cases, law reviews, and news.
New York Times Historical (1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times issues from 1851-2015 and get PDFs of the articles.
The Times (London) This link opens in a new window
The (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013

Off Campus Access

Are databases asking you for a password?
Are you off-campus?

The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!

Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.

For more details see the Off Campus Access guide.

some REF books just to get you started....

The Oxford Classical Dictionary
A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Cassell's Dictionary of Modern German History
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Cambridge History of China
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
American Cultural and Intellectual History
The Sixties in America
The Oxford History of Mexico
Encyclopedia of African American History
James Madison and the American Nation, 1751-1836
Running for President: The Candidates and Their Images
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
CQ's Politics in America
CQ's Guide to the Presidency
Elections in the Americas
Encyclopedia of the United State Congress
A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy
A Dictionary of 20th Century Communism
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia
The Oxford Handbook of the US Constitution

Ask a Librarian

Have a question or not seeing the search results you wanted?

Digital Humanities

Beeghly Library's Digital Humanities

This site includes images of artifacts from the Fort Shirley dig and other interesting images.

Politics: Political Resources