Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Explore our Collections

Exploring Our Collections

Some of our collections can be explored through the Library Catalog or through the PDrive, instructions are provided below.

For best results please contact:

  • Jacob Gordon, Archives & Special Collections Librarian
    814-641-5323
  • John MumfordAssociate Director and Head of Collections
    814-641-3451

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment?

Yes. For best results please contact a Library staff member ahead of your library visit. The library staff member will make sure the materials you requested have been prepared and are available at a time convenient for both parties. Most materials will only be available 8.30 - 12 pm  and 1 - 4.45 pm.

Can I check out any of these materials?

Items in special collections are there for a reason and cannot leave the building. Be aware that users are responsible for replacing, or replacement costs are damaged.

Can I make copies?

Permission must be granted before any copies may be made. Many of our items may be photocopied or scanned by our staff. We do reserve the right to decline the scanning or photocopying of certain fragile materials. Please be aware, copyright laws may apply to some of our material, and it is your responsibility to understand these laws before requesting copies or using the material in anyway other than a personal nature.

Archives and Special Collecitons Finding Aids (Click to Expand)

Archives Record Groups

Special Collections

How to browse our collections

Catalog

  • Visit the library Catalog
  • Run a blank search.
  • Use the limiters on the left hand side
    • Material Type:
      • Limit to "Pamphlet" or "Special Collections Material"
    • Shelf Location
      • Limit to "Archives- Basement (non-circulating)" or "Vault" or "Treasure Room"

PDrive  (Access for this is limited to Juniata College Affiliated users only, if you do not have Juniata credentials, please contact one of the librarians listed above).

    • Connect to the P:Drive
    • Open the Academic Folder.
    • Select Library.
    • Open Folder labeled:
      • Archives -> Archives - College History -> College Archives -updating in Progress -> Select a word document
        • For Archives Records Groups
      • Rarebooks_Hist_docs
        • For Rarebooks, Historic Documents, Cassel Books Post 1831, or Snow Hill collections