Black Lives Matter: Home

the #blacklivesmatter Web Archive contains news articles, blogs, social media, and other websites related to Ferguson, Michael Brown, Eric Garner, protests and demonstrations around the country, and seeks to document the movement as it grows and evolves

This is the official website of the #BlackLivesMatter network founded by Opal Tometi, Patrisse Cullors, and Alicia Garza.

List compiled by TEDBlog.

Created by and is the intellectual property of instructor Frank Leon Roberts. Material compiled in this syllabus should not be duplicated without proper citation and attribution.

"Part One features Black authors writing explicitly about anti-Black police brutality. Part Two features Black authors writing about subjects other than police brutality ... because Black people deserve to write about so much more than their deaths at the hands of police. Finally, ... resources for non-Black POC and white people who want to stand in solidarity against police brutality and violence against the Black community."

"I was taught to see racism only in individual acts of meanness, not in invisible systems conferring dominance on my group" Essay by Peggy McIntosh. Includes notes for facilitators.

"This document is intended to serve as a resource to white people and parents to deepen our anti-racism work. If you haven’t engaged in anti-racism work in the past, start now. Feel free to circulate this document on social media and with your friends, family, and colleagues."

"This is a working document for scaffolding anti-racism resources. The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work. These resources have been ordered in an attempt to make them more accessible. We will continue to add resources."

"This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)"

"Ideas and resources for the classroom to help middle and high school students think critically about the events in Ferguson, New York, Cleveland, North Charleston, Baltimore, Hempstead, Minneapolis, Baton Rouge, Tulsa, Baton Rouge, Charlotte, and across the U.S. and ways they can be proactive in their own communities."

CRLT's website features guidelines for discussing difficult topics to support teachers in facilitating such conversations in classrooms across the curriculum. If you want to raise such topics in your classroom in order to explore connections between course material and contemporary events, here are some strategies for planned discussions of high-stakes topics. Other CRLT resources offer you ways to prepare for and respond to challenging conversations that emerge when you haven’t planned for them.

"American Sociological Association, American Historical Association, American Anthropological Association, and Society for Applied Anthropology joined together to share resources on understanding, discussing, and teaching about race."

collected by the Smithsonian Learning Lab

"Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA)."

"The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale."

"The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans."

"Black Journal presented news segments and documentaries pertaining to the Black community and interviews with Black intellectuals, politicians, activists, entertainers, and athletes as part of its mission to display non-stereotyped presentations of what it meant to be Black in America. The series received Emmy, Peabody, and Russwurm awards for its coverage of timely issues. The episodes in this special collection span the period from 1968 to 1977, and feature segments on the Black Power Movement, Black nationalism, the “Black is beautiful” movement, the assassinations of Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X, Black communities in Atlanta, Detroit, and Los Angeles, the African diaspora, the Black Panthers, the Black student movement, Pan-Africanism, and the media’s representation of Black people."

"“MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism” is a selection of temporarily free books and articles from a wide range of publishers and perspectives about the history of racism in America, its endurance throughout society, and how the country can respond now to enact meaningful and lasting reform. We hope that this selection of research can help inform the necessary conversations and actions around this topic."