Home - HS 313 - Disease, Medicine, and Empire - LibGuides at Juniata College

Contact a Librarian

Sara Kern; kerns@juniata.edu

Jacob Gordon; gordonj@juniata.edu

Analyzing Sources

How to Read a Document
A collection of questions to ask when analyzing a primary source.
Primary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY
Secondary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY

Citation Resources

Purdue OWL Chicago

Helpful Reminders!

How to write an annotated bibliography
Reference this helpful graphic as you write your annotated bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Example
Example of an annotated bibliography entry for a book.

Helpful Databases

JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
Project Muse - Social Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals in the social sciences including cultural studies, economics, anthropology, politics, and much more.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.

Digitized Primary Source Collections

British Library Digitised Manuscripts
Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
New York Academy of Medicine Digital Resources
Digitized Materials from the rare book and historical collections.
University of Toronto Libraries Digital Collections
These digital collections were developed at the University of Toronto Libraries, in collaboration with university faculty and external partners. Contains several collections related to the history of medicine.
US National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.
Wellcome Library Digital Collections
NOTE: Be sure to select "Online" as the location once you have searched the catalog for your topic.
The Library's digital collections cover a wide variety of topics, including asylums, food, sex and sexual health, genetics, public health and war. Published books, pamphlets, archives, posters, photographs, and film and sound recordings are completely free to view. Digitised materials are released under a variety of Creative Commons non-commercial, attribution and Public Domain licenses.

Helpful Publications

BMJ: The British Medical Journal - Over the years, the British Medical Journal has changed names. Shared below are the different names and years of coverage, all links are for JStor unless otherwise noted.
- 1981-1988 - British Medical Journal (Clinical Research Edition)
- 1857-1980 - The British Medical Journal
- 1853-1856 - Association Medical Journal
- 1844-1852 - Provincial Medical & Surgical Journal
- 1849-1852 - London Journal of Medicine
- 1842-1844 - Provincial Medical Journal and Retrospect of the Medical Sciences
- 1840-1842 - Provincial Medical & Surgical Journal
Journal of the Royal African Society
- 1901 - 1944 - JStor
- Renamed African Affairs in 1944 - JStor
The Lancet
- 1823 - 1917 - Hathi Trust
Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene
- 1920 - 2013 - Science Direct
The American Journal of Tropical Diseases and Preventive Medicine
- 1913 - 1916 - Hathi Trust

HS 313 - Disease, Medicine, and Empire: Home

Contact a Librarian

Analyzing Sources

Citation Resources

Helpful Reminders!

Helpful Databases

Digitized Primary Source Collections

Helpful Publications

Follow the Beeghly Library!

Juniata CollegeThink About Who You Are