Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to Beeghly Library: Library News

Introducing The Juniata Campus Newspaper Archive

by Jacob Gordon on 2020-10-07T11:29:36-04:00 | Comments

 

Beeghly Library has launched a digital repository of the campus newspapers, The Juniatian, and its precursor, the Juniata Echo. This project has long been a work in progress, first started by Andrew Dudash prior to 2008 with the microfilming of the school papers and the acquisition of a microfilm scanner. 

Hosted through The Internet Archive, issues of  The Juniatian for the academic years 1940-1941 to 2015-2016 and the Juniata Echo from 1890 to 1924 are accessible to anyone with an internet connection, with more content to be added.  

Both papers document Juniata College life through pictures, editorials, student speeches, student literature, and reports on activities and interests.

Until this project, researchers seeking to use these newspapers were largely limited to working with the microfilm collection. The College Newspaper Archive was created from the microfilm collection, so image quality could vary. 

Today, through the College Newspaper Archive, Juniata students, staff, faculty and alumni will be able to read, browse, or search The Juniatian. Each issue can be browsed page-by-page. Thus, this archive allows researchers greater flexibility in locating articles of interest and in allowing greater access for those researchers not able to visit Juniata College.

 

View by academic year here: https://libguides.juniata.edu/ASC/CollegeNewspaperArchive

View Juniata College Archives and Special Collections Internet Archive Library here: https://archive.org/details/@jcarchives

The Juniata Library Archives and Special Collections has been sharing content through  Instagram such as advertisements, campus events, maps, or other content from the past issues.  Visit our page here: https://www.instagram.com/juniatalibraryasc

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.