Skip to Main Content
Library, College, or University Resources
- Ad*Access
- Duke Libraries digitized collection of over 7,000 U.S.. and Canadian advertisements from 1911 to 1955.
- CORSAIR: Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts
- Thousands of digitized images from the Pierpont Morgan Library's medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.
- Digitized Images from the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections
- University of Oxford digitized collections extending from early printing in Europe to The Suez Crisis of 1965.
- Juley Photographic Archives
- Smithsonian American Art Museum photograph archives catalog.
- National Portrait Gallery - Potrait Search
- NYPL Digital Gallery
- "over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."
- Perseus Digital Library's Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
- "The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings."
- Yale Digital Commons
- Search feature for Yale Digital Commons which allows the searching of over 1,500,000 documents.
Internet Resources for Images
- ALAConnect Digital Collections
- "Curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning ~85 subjects, including ~950 digital collections, that have been culled primarily from the LibGuides Community, and several subject areas have been further refined by 20 subject liaison librarians at the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities."
- Archives of American Art Image Gallery
- Over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents which have been scanned and individually described.
- Art Resource
- "World's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources."
- Artcyclopedia
- Internet encyclopedia for artists, artworks, and art museums.
- artnet
- A place to buy, sell, and research Fine Art, Design, and Decorative Art online.
- Artstor
- "Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline."
- Artsy
- "An online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. Artsy's growing collection comprises 140,000+ artworks by 25,000+ artists from leading art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions.
- Europeana
- Digitized materials from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Includes image, text, sound, and video resources.
- Galaxy of Images
- Digitized portion "of the more than 1.5 million printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries."
- Google Images
- Advanced Google image search.
- LIFE Photo Archive
- "Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
- National Portrait Gallery - Potrait Search
- VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts
- "Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK."
- Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online
Library of Congress Resources
