HS 215 - Rome: Republic to Empire: Home

Purdue OWL Chicago

• Ancient Narrative
  • Articles on "Greek, Roman, Jewish novelistic traditions, including novels proper, the "fringe", as well as the fragments; narrative texts of the Byzantine age, early Christian narrative texts - and the reception of these works in modern literature, film and music."
• Annotated Justinian Code and Novels
  • "Fred H Blume, attorney and Wyoming Supreme Court Justice, [used] his spare time to produce a massive annotated English translation of Justinian's Code." He also translated Justinian's novels into English. Hosted George W. Hopper Law Library at the University of Wyoming. Justinian’s Code.
• The British Museum Images
  • Digital images of Roman artworks and artifacts from the collection of the British Museum.
• Classical Art Research Centre and the Beazley Archive
  • "The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery. "
• Fordham University's Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: ROME
• Forum Romanum
  • A collaborative project among scholars, teachers, and students with the broad purpose of bringing classical literature out of college libraries and into a more accessible, online medium.
• Tufts' Perseus Collection of Greek and Roman Materials
  • Logeion (University of Chicago) - "Provides simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection and, in addition to definitions, includes frequencies, collocations, usage examples, and more."
• Electronic Resources for Classicists
  • List of resources "Developed and maintained by Maria Pantelia, University of California, Irvine "
• Internet Classics Archive (MIT)
• Roman Law Resources
  • "This site provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law. The site is available in English and German. "
• Rome Reborn: A Digital Model of Ancient Rome
• Views of Rome
  • "Views of Rome is the online home of the 1773 edition of Pirro Ligorio’s Anteiquae Urbis Imago (Image of the Ancient City) held at Emory University. "
• Aquae Urbis Romae (The Waters of the City of Rome)
  • "Aquae Urbis Romae is an interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy. Our study begins in 753 BC and will ultimately extend to the present day."

From the MET:

• Christopher Lightfoot. "The Roman Empire (27 B.C. -393 AC). Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Essays The Met October 2000.
• Ian Lockey. "Roman Housing" Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Essays The Met February 2009.