LibGuides: CA227: Archaeoastronomy: Home

Contact Your Librarian

Need help finding resources or figuring out databases?

Your librarian is happy to assist you through email, chat (on the library homepage), or Zoom!

Christine Elliott, elliotc@juniata.edu

Analyzing Sources

How to Read a Document
A collection of questions to ask when analyzing a primary source.
Primary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY
Secondary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY

Helpful Reminders!

How to write an annotated bibliography
Reference this helpful graphic as you write your annotated bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Example
Example of an annotated bibliography entry for a book.

Citation Resources

Purdue OWL Citation Guides

Helpful Databases

The library has a large collection of databases to find academic journals. A great place to start is EagleSearch, which looks for articles, books, ebooks, images, streaming media, DVDs, and more in a single powerful search.

Use the "Advance Search" option for EagleSearch to use multiple keywords, and to select the specific source type you are looking for.

Some recommended keywords to use:

"ethnoastronomy"
"cultural astronomy"
"historical astronomy"

For more, searching power, check out the following databases:

Academic Search COMPLETE This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
arXiv (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles.

Open Educational Resources and Primary Sources

Mason OER Metafinder
Search engine for open source primary sources, text books, and other open educational materials. Mason OER Metafinder looks at 15 leading OER repositories from a single query. Maintained by George Mason University and Deep Web Technologies.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.

CA227: Archaeoastronomy: Home