LibGuides: DS 516 Mathematics Fundamentals: Home

Introduction to Statistical Learning (Open Access eBook)

This book provides an introduction to statistical learning methods. It is aimed for upper level undergraduate students, masters students and Ph.D. students in the non-mathematical sciences. The book also contains a number of R labs with detailed explanations on how to implement the various methods in real life settings, and should be a valuable resource for a practicing data scientist.

Your Librarian

Justine Black

Applied Math and Computer Science Databases

arXiv (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MathSciNet - Mathematical Reviews This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text journals published by Elsevier in the physical and life sciences.

Online Resources and Societies

American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association is the world’s largest community of statisticians, the “Big Tent for Statistics.” It is the second-oldest, continuously operating professional association in the country.
Association for Computing Machinery
ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. Student membership available.
Information Resources Management Association
IRMA offers over 2,500 open access proceeding papers and peer reviewed journal articles for FREE download.

The Information Resources Management Association (IRMA) welcomes professionals, students, and academicians to search thousands of peer-reviewed works covering all areas of technology applied to modern organizations.
Nature Methods: Points of Significants Series
There is no disputing the importance of statistical analysis in biological research, but too often it is considered only after an experiment is completed, when it may be too late.

This collection highlights important statistical issues that biologists should be aware of and provides practical advice to help them improve the rigor of their work.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
Professional organization dedicated to building cooperation between mathematics and the worlds of science and technology through publications, research, and community. Student membership available.

DS 516 Mathematics Fundamentals: Home

Introduction to Statistical Learning (Open Access eBook)

Your Librarian

Applied Math and Computer Science Databases

Online Resources and Societies

Follow the Beeghly Library!

Juniata CollegeThink About Who You Are