Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not Finding Anything at the Library?
Having trouble finding books or full text materials? Interlibrary Loans are always an option!
What you will need:
- Publication Year
- Source of the above information.
- Article Title
- Periodical Title
- Publication Date
- Internet Sacred Text Archive
- Free archive of books about religion, mytholog, folklore, and the esoteric.
- British Library - Sacred Texts
- "78 texts across all faiths in chronological order."
- Pew Research: Religion & Public Life Project
- Resource that provides "surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world."
- Hartford Institute Religion Data Resources
- Religion data resources on census and social survey data on the web. Curated by the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.
- University of Souther California - Religion Dispatches
- "Writings on critical and timely issues at the intersection of religion politics and culture."
- Religion in American History
- "A Group Blog to foster discussion and share research, insights, reviews, observations, syllabi, links, new books, project information, grant opportunities, seminars, lectures, and thoughts about religion in American history."
- The Association of Religion Data Archives
- "Based in the Department of Sociology at The Pennsylvania State University. Our goal is to preserve and provide access to high-quality data on religion in the United States and abroad."
- The Pluralism Project
- Harvard University project's "mission is to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources."
- Digital Atlas of American Religion
- "A product of the Virtual Center for Spatial Humanities, a collaboration among The Polis Center at Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis (IUPUI), Florida State University, and West Virginia University. The center is a leader in research and development of methods to advance the use of GIS in non-traditional fields, with a specific focus on religion in the Atlantic world."
- BBC - Religion
- The Avalon Project
- Yale Law School's collection of "digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government."
- Catalog of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
- "3129 manuscripts listed here, drawn from 139 institutions, are an increasingly partial subset of manuscripts that have been digitized in their entirety and made available on the web."
- Bible Gateway
- Interent site to "freely read, research, and reference Scripture in more than 70 languages and more than 180 versions."
- the Unbound Bible
- Search and compare passages from various translations.
- The Gutenberg Bible
- Digital versions of "the British Library’s two copies of Johann Gutenberg’s Bible."
- Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
- "Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history."
- Mechon Mamre
- "The Hebrew Bible (Tana"kh) and Moses Maimonide's Complete Restatement of the Oral Law (Mishneh Torah)."
- "A free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation."
- The Open Siddur Project
- It's mission is to "liberate the creative content of Jewish spiritual practice as a collectively shared resource for students, scholars, artists, and educators to adopt, adapt, and redistribute."
- Ets Haim Library
- Digital manuscript collection of the oldest functioning Jewish Research Library located in Amsterdam.
- Hebrewmanuscripts.org and Hebrewbooks.org
- Preserved old American Hebrew books and manuscripts that are out of print and/or circulation.
- Jewish Theological Society
- A variety of digital collections that include: field recordings, theses, postcards, bookplates and other topics related to Jewish Theology.
- Hadith Collection
- Online collection of Hadith in an English translation.
- The American Muslim
- "The American Muslim is dedicated to the promotion of peace, justice, and reconciliation for all humanity."
- Serving the Guest: A Sufi Cookbook and Art Gallery
- "A cookbook with essays and anecdotes on the history and contemporary role of food, eating, meals and hospitality in Sufism, the mystical tradition of Islam. Featuring a gallery of Islamic art."
- Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon (Dictionary)
- "To list ALL the roots used in Al Quran (The Reading), including possible meanings (from SEVERAL classical Arabic dictionaries/lexicons), give ALL examples of usage in Al Quran (allowing cross-reference) and extensive comments on grammar for EVERY word. Its goal is to be the most comprehensive Quran study tool in the English language."
- Dr. A. Godlas' Islam and Islamic Studies Resources
- "Information for the study of Islam, Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism and Heterodox Movements Sufism and Sufi Poetry Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, and terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, as well as Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages such as Persian, and religion in general. "
- Islamic Heritage Project
- Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide through the Harvard University Library Open Collections Program.
- The Muslim Heritage
- "A unique online education community of Muslims and non-Muslims seeking to advance human civilization through the study of Muslim heritage. The website contains more than 1000 peer-reviewed articles, hundreds of short reports on news and events related to Muslim heritage research, and an interactive map and timeline."
- Muslim - Muslim Women's Art and Voices
- "An online exhibition featuring the art, voices, and stories of Muslim women around the globe."
- Web Resources compiled by the Harvard University Islamic Studies program.
- "This growing list of resources includes websites, reports, and articles that may be use resources for those seeking to more completely understand Islam and Muslim cultures."
- Middle East Virtual Library
- " The Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB) is an information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic full text materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts."
- Devi - The Great Goddess
- Companion website to an exhibition that "looks at the six aspects of the Indian goddess Devi.
- Digital South Asia Library
- "Provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users."
- South Asian American Digital Archive
- "An independent national non-profit organization working to create a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences."
- The John C. and Susan L. Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art
- This "collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia."
- "An internet discussion group whose primary purpose is to provide a forum for discussion among professional scholars of classical Indian (South Asian) civilization."
- Institute of Buddhist Studies
- " The Institute of Buddhist Studies publishes a number of journals, book series, and other other publications. Our journals are free of charge, and PDF versions may be downloaded directly from the website."
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- "Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work."
- The Tibetan and Himalayan Library
- "A publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions."
- Himalayan Art Resources
- "The world's largest educational resource for Himalayan Art and Iconography,
now cataloging over 60,000 images."
- Thai Digital Monastery
- "For anyone interested in Thai monastic life diachronically and synchronically."