Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Peace & Conflict Studies: Find Articles and Journals

Request Articles from Other Libraries

Does the library not have a full version of the article you need? Submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and have the full-text article emailed directly to you!

Featured Peace & Conflict Studies Publications

           

Search for Articles and Journals

EagleSearch: Find Books, Journals, eBooks, and more...


Advanced Search

EagleSearch is a Discovery tool that searches the catalog and most of our databases at once. For more in-depth research you may want to independently search the appropriate subject specific database (ex. Historical Abstracts).

A

 B

 C

E

G

H

I

J

L

M

N

P

S

T

W

 

Journals @ JC: Library Journals & Publications

Journals @ JC is a searchable list of all periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, trade journals, etc.) that Juniata has access to in any format (digital, print, microfilm).

Peace and Conflict Studies Databases

Other Resources

  • United Nations
  • Cardozo Journal of Conflict Resolution
    • "The Cardozo Journal of Conflict Resolution (CJCR) is the country’s preeminent legal journal of arbitration, negotiation, mediation, settlement, and restorative justice. We are one of the most heavily-cited legal publications in the broad field of “Civil Litigation and Dispute Resolution,” ranked as seventh internationally in 2014."
  • Human Development Reports
  • Statistics Sweden (SCB)
  • The World Bank Gender Equality Data
  • Peace Magazine
    • Published by the Canadian Disarmament Information Service. Open access to articles from 1985 to the present.
  • Global Voices
    • "Global Voices has been leading the conversation on citizen media reporting since 2005. We curate, verify and translate trending news and stories you might be missing on the Internet, from blogs, independent press and social media in 167 countries."
  • The Peace Media Clearinghouse
    • "PeaceMedia holds a vast collection of media that promotes peace. It is a collaborative project with Georgetown University's Conflict Resolution Program."
  • Institute for War & Peace Reporting
    • "IWPR gives voice to people at the frontlines of conflict, crisis and change. From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, IWPR helps people in the world's most challenging environments have the information they need to drive positive changes in their lives — holding government to account, demanding constructive solutions, strengthening civil society and securing human rights. "
  • James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Stuides
    • "CNS strives to combat the spread of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) by training the next generation of nonproliferation specialists and disseminating timely information and analysis."
  • CIA World Factbook
    • "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
  • Library of Congress Country Studies
    • "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
  • Federation of American Scientist - Terrorism Background and Threat Assessement
  • Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) Military Expenditure Database
    • "Contains consistent time series on the military spending of 171 countries since 1988, and of NATO member states from 1949 or from when they joined NATO."

Using search Keywords

Keywords are just as useful searching databases as they were in the Library Catalog. Databases tend to have much more content than the catalog, so search terms can be combined to find more precise resources.

Tips that work for most Databases.

  • Use AND, OR, and NOT to join keyword terms versus assuming that the search engine will apply ones you want
  • Use parentheses to group terms with Boolean terms to distinguish sets of ANDs and ORs
  • Asterisk (*) stands for multiple characters. Most databases only allow * on the end of a term. JStor and Wiley allow * to stand before or embedded in a word.

EXAMPLE: war* = war, wars, warring, warlord, etc.

  • Question marks (?) stand for single character replacement.

EXAMPLE: wom?n = woman, women

  • Use double quotation marks around a phrase that you want to search exactly as typed. Some databases will ignore "stop words" such as 'a', 'the', etc. regardless of quotation marks.
  • Use Author, Title, and Abstract search narrowing to find items more specific to your topic. Be careful when using Abstract because not every article contains one.