Skip to main content

Philosophy: Internet Resources

Using search Keywords

Keywords are just as useful searching databases as they were in the Library Catalog. Databases tend to have much more content than the catalog, so search terms can be combined to find more precise resources.

Tips that work for most Databases.

  • Use AND, OR, and NOT to join keyword terms versus assuming that the search engine will apply ones you want
  • Use parentheses to group terms with Boolean terms to distinguish sets of ANDs and ORs
  • Asterisk (*) stands for multiple characters. Most databases only allow * on the end of a term. JStor and Wiley allow * to stand before or embedded in a word.

EXAMPLE: war* = war, wars, warring, warlord, etc.

  • Question marks (?) stand for single character replacement.

EXAMPLE: wom?n = woman, women

  • Use double quotation marks around a phrase that you want to search exactly as typed. Some databases will ignore "stop words" such as 'a', 'the', etc. regardless of quotation marks.
  • Use Author, Title, and Abstract search narrowing to find items more specific to your topic. Be careful when using Abstract because not every article contains one.

General

  • PhilSci Archive
    • "An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community." Maintained by the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • Philosophy Talk
    • "Philosophy Talk celebrates the value of the examined life. Each week, our two host philosophers invite you to join them in conversation on a wide variety of issues ranging from popular culture to our most deeply-held beliefs about science, morality, and the human condition."
  • American Philosophy Association
    • "Promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry."
  • the Indiana Philosophy Ontology (InPHO) Project
    • "Offers a variety of tools for students, researchers, programmers and scholars.
      The ontology currently covers philosophical ideas, thinkers, and journals."
  • Episteme Links
    • "Was started in 1997 and later grew to include over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet and had several additional features. After becoming increasingly out of date, the site was taken down in 2011. This page now provides selected links to some outstanding resources for philosophy."
  • Liberty Fund's Online Library of Liberty
    • Full text access to 175 books on philosophy.
  • Cogprints Philosophy Papers
    • Collection of writings related to Philosophy. Includes preprint articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other materials.
  • the Paideia Project
    • Boston University curated collection of full text papers related to philosophy.

Ethics

  • Ethics Etc
    • "A forum for discussing contemporary philosophical issues in ethics and related areas."
  • Bioethics.net (American Journal of Bioethics).
    • "Publishes information on the latest journal publications, events, job opportunities and current news."