Sociology and Social Work: Find Articles and Journals

Does the library not have a full version of the article you need? Submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and have the full-text article emailed directly to you!

A-Z Index of Government Agencies

• American Sociological Association
  • "A non-profit membership association dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good.
• FedStats
  • "Statistics from more than 100 agenencies available to citizens everywhere."
• Pew Research Center
  • "A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
• Cultural Politics
  • "A site designed to offer resources for the analysis of the role of culture in shaping our political, economic, and social lives. Cultural politics understands culture - popular culture/mass media, folk culture and the arts."
• U.S.. Census Bureau
  • Tracks demographic information, economic data, and other aspects of the U.S.. economy and society.
• CIA World Factbook
  • "Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
• World Health Organization
  • "Is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system."
• American FactFinder
  • "Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys."
• United Nations Demographic Yearbook
  • " Collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics."
• Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  • Seeks to create "a body of quality scholarship that provides perspective to and understanding of the lives of working families and the work conditions that affect them."
• Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
  • "Works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide."

Keywords are just as useful searching databases as they were in the Library Catalog. Databases tend to have much more content than the catalog, so search terms can be combined to find more precise resources.

Tips that work for most Databases.

• Use AND, OR, and NOT to join keyword terms versus assuming that the search engine will apply ones you want
• Use parentheses to group terms with Boolean terms to distinguish sets of ANDs and ORs
• Asterisk (*) stands for multiple characters. Most databases only allow * on the end of a term. JStor and Wiley allow * to stand before or embedded in a word.

EXAMPLE: war* = war, wars, warring, warlord, etc.

• Question marks (?) stand for single character replacement.

EXAMPLE: wom?n = woman, women

• Use double quotation marks around a phrase that you want to search exactly as typed. Some databases will ignore "stop words" such as 'a', 'the', etc. regardless of quotation marks.
• Use Author, Title, and Abstract search narrowing to find items more specific to your topic. Be careful when using Abstract because not every article contains one.