LibGuides: Immigration: Library Resources

Search for Books & E-Books

Gold Card Holders - Request Books for Curbside Pickup Here!

Print Books in the Library

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers more than one million high-quality e-book titles and 100,000 audiobooks from more than 1,500 major academic publishers and University Presses from around the world.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers,
Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities Ebooks is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year

Books to Request from other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search book collections from around the world. You can also use this tool to request books not found at Juniata.

Get Books about Immigration Issues!

LOOK between JV6018-JV8790 for the Immigration topic

H's in general - pockets of books on the effect of immigration on society

HT1506-HT1581 - on racism

KF4783-4865 - religion and Constitution

JQ1758-JQ1850 - Middle East Politics

JC573-JC599 - convervatism, liberalism, human rights

HV640-HV645 - Refugees

HV6321-HV6433 - Terrorism/Genocide

All located Second floor (top)

Of Library! Enjoy browsing!!

DVD's of Interest

The Visitor

The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada

Casablanca

Farmingdale

Exils

Beyond the Gates

The Lotus Seed

Kedma

Into the Arms of Strangers

Children of Men

The Border

Cochise County, USA

Destination America

The Border Crossed Us

Babel

Price of Sex

Le Havre

Entre Nos

Sin Nombre

The U.S. vs John Lennon

Research Tools

Top 6 Research Databases

JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Of Special Interest might be Law Reviews and also Foreign Language News - which provide legal scholarship and perspective on current issues-
Project Muse - Social Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals in the social sciences including cultural studies, economics, anthropology, politics, and much more.
Academic Search COMPLETE This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search Wiley published journals and books in nearly every subject.

More Research Tools

Google Scholar
**Add Beeghly Library to the Google Scholar settings to instantly see if we provide full text to articles. Go to Settings > Library Links > type in Beeghly or Juniata College. Turn on cookies and Save.

Nexis Uni - Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni Criminal Justice provides access to state and federal statutes, cases, law reviews, and news.
New York Times Historical (1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times issues from 1851-2015 and get PDFs of the articles.
The Times (London) This link opens in a new window
The (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013

Off Campus Access

Are databases asking you for a password?
Are you off-campus?

The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!

Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.

For more details see the Off Campus Access guide.

Print Journals/Magazines of Interest (often offering articles on Immigration and Related Issues)

Foreign Affairs

The French Review

Harper's Magazine

Hispania

The Humanist

The International Educator

Latin American Perspectives

The Middle East Journal

Church of the Brethren Messenger

Christianity Today

Daedalus

National Review

The Nation

Ms.

Mother Jones

New York Times Magazine

Peace and Conflict

Political Science Quarterly

Saturday Evening Post

Sojourners

Der Spiegel

L'Obs

Time

Utne Reader

The Week

Virginia Quarterly Review

Washington Monthly

Washington Report on Middle East Affairs

Young Children

Islamic Horizons

Africa Today

The American Conservative

American Scholar

The American Prospect

Asian Survey

The Atlantic

China Today

Commentary

Communication, Culture, and Critique

Current History

Dissent

The Economist

some REF books just to get you started....

Freedom in the World

Encyclopedia of Human Rights - Issues Since 1945

The Human Rights Encyclopedia

The Almanac of America Politics

Direction of Trade Statistics

Encyclopedia of Terrorism

The Statesman's Yearbook

United State Statistical Abstracts

Politics in America

Encyclopedia of Social Issues

Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice

The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration

Statistical Abstract of Latin America

The Encyclopedia of Irish in America

American Immigrant Cultures

Encyclopedia of US Foreign Relations

Japanese American History

Asian American BIography

The Mexican American Experience

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Encyclopedia of North American Immigration

Ask a Librarian

Have a question or not seeing the search results you wanted?

Digital Humanities

Beeghly Library's Digital Humanities

This site includes images of artifacts from the Fort Shirley dig and other interesting images.

Immigration: Library Resources