Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to Beeghly Library: About the Library

Questions? Comments? Tell us here!

Embedded Programming: Information Literacy

Information Literacy is "the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning." - Association of College and Research Libaries

These skills should be thoughtfully integrated into our assignments, projects, courses, and curriculum. To learn more about how to incorporated information literacy into your teaching, explore the resources below:

Library Mission Statement

The Beeghly Library is an integral resource in support of the educational programs of Juniata College. The library provides scholarly information and library services necessary to enhance academic life and encourage lifelong learning through the College community.

Accessing Library Resources

The Library at Juniata College is open to the public! Our first priority is supporting the campus community, but we welcome visitors. Residents of Huntingdon County are able to request a community library card which enables them to check out most circulating materials. The Archives and Special Collections are available by appointment.

The Library has a manual elevator. Use of this elevator requires opening and closing a heavy door and a cage door. Library employees are trained to assist patrons in using the elevator.

The majority of Library collections are housed in the basement or on the second floor.

There are three group study rooms and five individual study rooms available for student use in the basement and on the second floor. The second floor is for quiet study.

Parking is available for staff, faculty, and visitors in a lot adjacent to the library building. There are several accessible parking spaces available in this lot. The Library is 22 on this campus map.

Public restrooms are located in the basement, which requires use of the stairs or elevator to access.

Chat is available through the Library website whenever the library building is open. You can also connect with library staff via phone or email, which are listed lower on this page.

The Collections

The Circulating Collection includes over 120,000 physical items.
There is online access to150 Electronic Databases that contain over 1,300,000 items.
The Archives & Special Collection includes over 47,000 physical items that are classified rare, historical, and/or unique.

  Jacob Gordon
 Head of Collections,
 Relocation Project Manager
 gordonj@juniata.edu

 (814) 641-5323​

 Lauren Everett
 Access & Collections
 
Coordinator
 everetl@juniata.edu

 (814) 641-3455
 Sara Kern
 Student Success &
 Outreach Librarian
 kerns@juniata.edu

 (814) 641-3449
 

L.A. Beeghly Library, Juniata College
1700 Moore Street, Huntingdon, PA 16652
Phone: 814-641-3450
Fax: 814-641-3435