Skip to main content

Welcome to Beeghly Library: Library News

Beeghly Library: October Events

by Christine Elliott on 2019-09-27T15:40:04-04:00 | Comments

October is a busy month at Beeghly Library with a lineup of exciting programs available to Juniata College and the surrounding community! Mark your calendars and encourage your students to attend the events highlighted below. 

 

October 2, Ask an Archivist Day/Pop-Up Library 
Located in Ellis Hall Lobby, near Baker 
11:30-12:30pm 

October is Archives Month, and October 2nd is Ask an Archivist day.  

Take this opportunity to engage directly with Beeghly Library’s Archivist (and Archives Intern) who will respond to your questions from the silly (What do archivists talk about around the water cooler?) to the practical (What should I do to be sure that my photos won’t get lost?), but each question will be an opportunity to share more about the why and how Archives operate.  

 

October 21-27, Open Access Week 
For the entire week, the library will be hosting a display, highlighting textbooks, educational materials, copyright resources, and more.  

This year’s theme is “Open for Whom? Equity in Open Knowledge.” As this week progresses, we want to ask ourselves: Whose voices are being excluded in current academic conversations? Are underrepresented groups being included as full partners from the beginning of the process? Who benefits from completely open access to educational and academic resources? 

 

October 23, 1 Item/1 Hour: Eating the Archives 
Back by popular demand! Interested members of Juniata and the surrounding community are invited to participate in this well-attended event! The library is currently seeking bakers and cooks to create a historic recipe. Participants should expect to: 

  • Submit a recipe to Jacob Gordon by October 14 (an old family recipe or pre-1923 preferred) 

  • We recommend using HathiTrust, Archive.org or one of the choices below, to find appropriate recipes: 

  • Provide a list of ingredients 

  • Provide sample servings for attendees (minimum of 24 samples) 

  • Prepare a five-minute talk to discuss your recipe and methods 

Those interested in participating should email Jacob Gordon at gordonj@juniata.edu 

The event will start with a brief talk about the available recipes in the Archives and Special Collections, before everyone will be invited to try provided samples! Bring your appetite! 

 

October 27, Dramatic Reading of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by the Juniata Theater Ensemble Club 
Hosted by Beeghly Library 

Family friendly, and the surrounding community is invited! 
Come by dressed in your best Halloween costume, and enjoy a family-friendly dramatic reading of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Light refreshments will be provided. 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.