Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AN411 - History of Anthropological Thought: Home

Obituaries as Gold Mines

Obituaries as Gold Mines

The field of anthropology tends to be more comprehensive in the scholarly, whole picture approach to obituaries than other fields of study.

What makes an anthropologist's obituary?  Click here for a Yale class project that describes these.

American Anthropology Obituary Index by Dr. David Price of St. Martin's College (4 sources through 2003)

 

Search for Books & E-Books

Print Books in the Library

E-Books

Books to Request from other Libraries

Journals @ JC / Full Text Finder

Off Campus Access

Are databases asking you for a password?
Are you off-campus?

The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!

Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.

For more details see the Off Campus Access guide

 

Search Tools & Databases in Anthropology

AnthroSource.net

  • AnthroSource, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
  • Good for both searching and browsing.
  • It contains current issues of 33 AAA journals, including American Anthropologist from 1888 - current.

AnthroSource is an EXCELLENT way to search for obituaries as well as articles by and about your anthropologists.

        Searching tips: 
                               Use the Advance search for more control & consult the search tips                           
                               "Margaret Mead" = 115 (not including the obituary)
                               Author = Mead = 57

Anthropological Index

  • The index to the current periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the British Museum
  • Covers 1957 - present
  • **You must check years to search. Check All Years to include all possible.
  • INDEX only -- no abstracts or other information -- just citations
  • Links to full text within JStor where applicable
  • Can be cumbersome at times
  • Advanced Search
         Searching tips:
                               Most author searching is only effective using first inital and last name -- not full name
                                     (ex. M Mead instead of Margaret Mead)
                               If your anthropologist's (author) name isn't too common, you may be successful with just that.
  • A journal archive that includes numerous anthropology journals
  • Best used to retrieve articles that are identified with another database