Home - HS 277 - History of Food - LibGuides at Juniata College

Beeghly Library Books

History of Food Library Visit 1 October 7, 2021

Topic Planning Document

Food Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

3 Volumes

Click the link to find the Contents as displayed through Worldcat.

Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

Click the link to find index or article list throguh Oxford Online.

Larousse Gastronomique: the World's Greatest Culinary Encyclopedia

The Wine Bible

Click the link to find Contents as displayed through Worldcat.

Library Databases

Academic Search COMPLETE This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Adam Mathew's Collection Explorer (AM Collection) This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
JStor This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture.
New York Times Historical (1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times issues from 1851-2015 and get PDFs of the articles.
Project Muse - Social Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals in the social sciences including cultural studies, economics, anthropology, politics, and much more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- Appetite
- Journal of food composition and analysis
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search Wiley published journals and books in nearly every subject.
World's Fairs This link opens in a new window
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.

Internet Resources

General Resources

A Glossary of Cookery and Other Terms - "An accumulation of the glossaries compiled for six Prospect Books facsimile reprints or transcripts of English cookery texts of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries."

HEARTH (Home Economics Archive Research Tradition History) - "Is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."

National Agricultural Library Digital Collections - The NALDC offers rich searching, browsing and retrieval of digital materials and collections, and provides reliable, long-term online access to selected publications. NALDC includes historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more.

The Sifter - The Sifter is a publicly available searchable database and is designed to be a tool to aid in finding, identifying and comparing historical and contemporary writing on food and related topics.

Southern Foodways Alliance - The Southern Foodways Alliance documents, studies, and explores the diverse food cultures of the changing American South. Our work sets a welcome table where all may consider our history and our future in a spirit of respect and reconciliation.

University of North Texas USDA Farmer's Bulletins - "The United States Department of Agriculture Farmers' Bulletins were produced to disseminate information about agricultural topics. This collection includes bulletins published between the 1880's and the 1980's."

Journals

Agriculture and Food Security - "A peer-reviewed open access journal that addresses the challenge of global food security."

Anthropology of Food - "A webjournal dedicated to the human and social sciences of food. Anthropology of Food is an open access multilingual academic journal"

Graduate Association for Food Studies - "The Graduate Association for Food Studies (GAFS) is the official graduate student caucus of the Association for the Study of Food and Society (ASFS). GAFS is an interdisciplinary academic community founded in the spring of 2014 with the goals of connecting graduate students interested in food and promoting their exceptional work."

Books and Journals

Archive.org - A non-profit, public digital library founded in 1996. Their stated mission is to provide "universal access to all knowledge." In addition to its archiving function, the Archive is an activist organization, advocating for a free and open Internet.

HathiTrust - HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.

HathiTrust Food Studies Collections

Cookbooks and Recipes

Cookbooks and Home Economics - UCLA

The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library.

Cookery and Culture Digital Collection - Utah State University - The digitized historical cookbooks in this collection date from the 1700s to the 1900s. Mostly American and British, they contain not only recipes, but also elegant engravings of table settings and cooking paraphernalia, home remedies and cure-all tonics, instructions on managing servants, and more.

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project - Michigan State University Library's online collection of influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.

Feast Afrique - is a celebration of West African culinary heritage curated by Ozoz Sokoh.

Manuscript Cookbooks Survey - "A database of pre-1865 English-language manuscript cookbooks held in U. S. public institutions as well as a database of kitchen artifacts used at the time these manuscripts were written."

Szathmary Recipe Pamphlet Digital Collection - The University of Iowa collection includes more than 4,000 promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations (the majority are listed in this index). Dating from the late 19th century to the present, this advertising ephemera reflects the evolution of the modern American diet.

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Carson Gulley Cookbook Collection

"Carson Gulley (1897-1962) gained such legendary status as a chef on the UW-Madison campus that both a building and a pie were named for him."

Recipe for Victory: Food and Cooking In Wartime

"The Recipe for Victory: Food and Cooking in Wartime collection presents books and government publications documenting the national effort to promote and implement a plan to make food the key to winning World War I."

Virginia Tech Digitized Rare Books - Includes many publications from the library's Culinary History Collection.

HS 277 - History of Food: Home