Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HS 293 - Sophomore Colloquium: Home

HS 293 - Sophomore Colloquium

 

Learn about Zotero here "an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free."

Library History Resources

How to use this Research Guide [READ THIS FIRST]:

To better serve you and your research needs during this time, primary resources, books, and articles are made centrally available here. Materials are organized into three boxes:

  • Internet Resources (Single or multi topic specific repositories, digital libraries, and other online collections)
  • eBooks (Library eBook collections).
  • Library Databases

 

There is a second page available on the blue tab above this box for:

  • Virtual Treasure Room Visit


Your Librarians:

Jacob Gordon: gordonj@juniata.edu

Sara Kern: kerns@juniata.edu

Christine Elliott: elliotc@juniata.edu

Library History Databases

Find Course or Assignment Specific Resources in these guides:

Juniata College History Resources

Internet Resources

Digital Libraries

 

  • Archive.org
    • "a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."

Special Topic Resources

  • Avalon Project - American Historical Documents
    • Yale Law School's project to  "mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government." Documents from 4000 BCE to 2000
  • Enslaved: People of the Historic Slave Trade
    • "Explore or reconstruct the lives of individuals who were enslaved, owned slaves, or participated in the historical trade."
  • Eyewitness to History
    • Primary sources from the Ancient World to the Twentith Century.
  • Freedom Narratives
    • The digital repository "Freedom Narratives focuses on the enforced migration of enslaved Africans in the Atlantic world during the era of the slave trade from the 16th to the 19th century. The biographical accounts included here include the testimonies and stories of individuals born in West Africa whose voices have long been silenced."
  • Women's History Archive
    • "published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present." See their list of Research Guides for topic ranges.
  • National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
    • "Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources."

eBooks