EN 300: Modern Theories of Grammar: Home

Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Modern Theories of Grammar! This webpage contains a lot of information that will be useful for starting and supporting your research.

On the home page, you can find:

• Databases
• Internet Resources
• Citation Guides
• Information about Course Reserves 

You can also visit the other pages through the tab at the top to find resources tailored to specific themes in the course. If you have any questions or run into any issues, please send an email to your subject librarian, Sara Kern kerns@juniata.edu

• ARTFL Project - "Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources."
• Chronology of Events in the English Language
• Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) - "The largest freely-available corpus of English."
• Digital Commons Network - "Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
• Documenting the American South
• Early America
• eLanguage
• Language Log - "Is a group blog on language and linguistics started in the summer of 2003 by Mark Liberman and Geoffrey Pullum."
• Led on Line - Electronic archive of academic and literary texts.
• Snippets - A journal of technical notes in natural language syntax and semantics.
• Linguist List (Eastern Michigan University) - "Is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world.
• Linguistic Society of America Conference Proceedings  - "The extended abstracts of the LSA Annual Meeting, and  the proceedings of the Berkeley Linguistic Society (BLS), the Annual Meetings in Phonology (AMP), and Semantics and Linguistic Theory (SALT)." 
• OSU Language Files Useful Links - Links from your textbook arranged by chapter.
• Oxford Text Archive  - "Collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching. We currently hold thousands of texts in more than 25 different languages."
• Pew Research Center - "Is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."   There are language entries throughout the page, but this link should take you directly to the language resources.
• SIL Glossary of Linguistic Terms
• Urban Dictionary

DVDs

• McWhorter, John. 2004. The story of human language. (DVD 763 BOOK)
• McWhorter, John. 2004. The story of human language. Parts 1, 2, and 3. (DVD 763)
• WNET/PBS. 2002. Secret life of the brain. Parts 1 (Baby’s brain and Child’sbrain) and 3 (Adult brain and Aging brain). (DVD 308 Pt. 3)
• Films for the Humanities and Sciences. Speaking in tongues. Parts 1 (Letthere be words: The origin of human language”), 2 (Constant change: The diversification and spread of language”), and 5 (Birth and death: The life cycle of language”). (DVD 1010)

Videos

• WNET/PBS. 1988. The mind. Episode 7: Language. (Video 390

• Linguistic Society of America. 2007. “Unified Style Sheet for Linguistics.”
• Linguistic Society of America. 2012. “Language Style Sheet.”

• B - Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion
• H  - Social Sciences
• P - Language and Literature
  • P121-149         Science of Language (Linguistics)
  • P201-299         Comparative Grammar
  • PE                    English Language
  • PR                    English Literature
• Q - Science