Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers: Newspapers

Newspaper Collection

Beeghly Library provides thousands of print and digital newspapers to the Juniata community, including the Daily News, Altoona Mirror, and Centre Daily Times.  Coverage begins as early as 1690 for the Early American Newspapers and can go to the current day's papers from around the world (The Irish Times, The Globe and Mail Canada, etc.)  in Lexis Nexis.  Be sure to ask a librarian for assistance. 

Off Campus Access

Are databases asking you for a password?
Are you off-campus?

The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!

Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.

For more details see the Off Campus Access guide

 

Newspaper Databases

Huntingdon County Historical Newspaper Collection

Our first phase of digitization is complete with 20 years of the Huntingdon Gazette and 39 years of the Huntingdon Journal available through Power LibraryThis is a fully searchable archive, although there are some limitations due to image quality of the original scans.  If you encounter problems, please contact us and we will try to help you out.

We are always looking for old issues of Huntingdon County Newspapers before 1922. Currently we are looking for issues of the Huntingdon Gazette from 04/09/1812 to 03/16/1815.  These issues were never microfilmed and we have been unable to locate bound volumes or individual issues from these dates.  Please contact us for any help with regard to these missing issues.  It is generally our policy to microfilm older papers before they are digitized.

Our long term goal is to complete the Huntingdon Journal to 1904 and to locate missing issues of the Gazette and Journal.  We will also be considering future titles for inclusion into the digital collection.