LibGuides: FYS Ufology: Home

Helpful Reminders!

OWL Perdue: MLA Citation

Librarian: Sara Kern; kerns@juniata.edu

Helpful Databases

Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Analyzing Sources

How to Read a Document
A collection of questions to ask when analyzing a primary source.
Primary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY
Secondary Source Infographic
Shonnmharen CC BY

Annotated Bibliographies

How to write an annotated bibliography
Reference this helpful graphic as you write your annotated bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Example
Example of an annotated bibliography entry for a book.

Open Educational Resources: Ufology Research (Free to access!)

Helpful terms to use when searching these databases:

UFO and/or "unidentified flying objects"
UAP and/or "unidentified aerial phenomenon"
Ufology
add "sightings"
"extraterrestrial"
International Flying Saucers Bureau

Mason OER Metafinder
Search engine for open source primary sources, text books, and other open educational materials. Mason OER Metafinder looks at 15 leading OER repositories from a single query. Maintained by George Mason University and Deep Web Technologies.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Open textbooks, syllabi, and supporting materials created under Affordable Learning Georgia OER grants. Materials are licensed under various Creative Commons licenses.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.

Helpful Websites

When searching terms on Google, remember to add "libguide" to the end of your search. This will bring up library-vetted resources on your topic of choice. For example: "extraterrestrial libguide" or "UFO libguide" or "unidentified aerial projection libguide"

MUFON
The Mutual UFO Network is an all-volunteer, non-profit 501(c)3 charitable corporation and the world's oldest and largest civilian UFO investigation & research organization. Our goal is to be the inquisitive minds' refuge seeking answers to that most ancient question, "Are we alone in the universe?"
The Scientific Coalition for UAP Studies
Mission: To conduct, promote and encourage rigorous scientific examination of Unidentified Aerospace Phenomena (UAP), commonly known as Unidentified Flying Objects (UFOs). To fully utilize scientific principles, methodologies and practices in the study of Unidentified Aerial Phenomenon observed and reported around the globe.
Mysterious Universe
Mysterious Universe brings you the latest news and podcasts covering the strange, extraordinary, weird, wonderful and everything in between.
We strive to maintain a balance of healthy skepticism and entertainment while never losing our sense of humour.

FYS Ufology: Home

Start your research here!