Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IS 105 - World Regional Geography: Home

Search for Books & E-Books

Print Books in the Library

E-Books

Books to Request from other Libraries

Library of Congress Call Numbers

The Circulating and Reference Collections in Beeghly Library are organized by the Library of Congress Classification System.

Resources for this course might be found in the following areas:

D - World History

H - Social Sciences

HD - Industries. Land Use. Labor

J - Political Science

S - Agriculture

T - Technology

 

Databases

Resources from the Library Book Collections

Internet Resources

How Products Are Made - Electronic version of a Reference Book by Gale Publishers

World Trade Organization - Resource Page w/Research and Statistics

CIA The World Factbook - "Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."

US  Department of State FactSheets - Facts and summary statistics about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of countries, some dependencies, and special sovereignty areas prepared by the US State Department.

Journals @ JC / Full Text Finder

Using search Keywords

Keywords are just as useful searching databases as they were in the Library Catalog. Databases tend to have much more content than the catalog, so search terms can be combined to find more precise resources.

Tips that work for most Databases.

  • Use AND, OR, and NOT to join keyword terms versus assuming that the search engine will apply ones you want
  • Use parentheses to group terms with Boolean terms to distinguish sets of ANDs and ORs
  • Asterisk (*) stands for multiple characters. Most databases only allow * on the end of a term. JStor and Wiley allow * to stand before or embedded in a word.

EXAMPLE: war* = war, wars, warring, warlord, etc.

  • Question marks (?) stand for single character replacement.

EXAMPLE: wom?n = woman, women

  • Use double quotation marks around a phrase that you want to search exactly as typed. Some databases will ignore "stop words" such as 'a', 'the', etc. regardless of quotation marks.
  • Use Author, Title, and Abstract search narrowing to find items more specific to your topic. Be careful when using Abstract because not every article contains one.